Award Nominations Open

News: Award Nominations Open

Award Nominations

As your vice chairman and chair of the awards committee, it is my pleasure to begin working on this year’s list of awardees. Anyone wanting to make a nomination should send that candidate’s nomination to t.gibson [at] as soon as possible so their name can be considered. The categories are:

  • Hall of Fame. This is the American Theatre Organ Society’s highest award! It is presented to someone who has devoted a lifetime to the cause of ATOS, usually having won different awards previously. This award is reserved for those who have made MAJOR contributions (money or otherwise) over an extended period of time.
  • Organist of the Year. This is presented to a prominent organist who was active in the previous year and who deserved to be recognized but has never won this award.
  • Honorary Member. This award also goes to someone who has contributed to the cause of ATOS or the theatre organ in a big way. It conveys honorary (free) membership for life, and hence, this award may be presented to someone who is not a member of ATOS, although it can also go to an ATOS member. (Last year’s winner, Phil Kelsall, has never been an ATOS member.)
  • Member of the Year. This award recognizes someone who has done something significant in the past year. (Example- Dr. Bill Coale received this award for his work on the George Wright book in 2018.)
  • Awards of Special Merit. This is a catch-all category, and sometimes several (or none) can be given out in one year. If someone has done some special thing at the local or national level, i.e. such as restoring an organ, or otherwise contributed to our cause, they could receive this award.,
  • Industry Achievement Award. This award is reserved for someone who has made a contribution to the theatre organ or ATOS through their business (Dick Wilcox received the award for the Uniflex organ relay).
  • The nominations must come from you, our members! As there are so many people doing wonderful things to support the theatre organ and ATOS, we need your help!
    Please email your nominations (please include their name, category, and reason for nomination) to t.gibson [at]
    The awards committee will then decide the winners, and the award will be presented at the ATOS Convention Awards Banquet in Indianapolis, IN. Deadline for nominations is April 15, 2020. Thank you in advance for your work!
    Tedde Gibson