Simonton Literary Prize

The Simonton Literary Prize was established in 2000 by ATOS in honor of Richard C. Simonton, founder of the American Theatre Organ Enthusiasts, the organization now known as the American Theatre Organ Society. Its purpose is to encourage and award original research, scholarship, and writing in the areas of theatre pipe organ history, restoration, and conservation. A monetary prize in the amount of $1000, a certificate, and publication in the Theatre Organ journal are awarded winning entries.

Program Application

    Past Recipients

    • 2008 - 2018 No Award Presented
    • 2007 - Don Hyde, “The World Around Hope-Jones”
    • 2006 - No award presented
    • 2005 - Henry Aldridge, Ann Arbor, Michigan
    • 2004 - Gene Barfield, Boyne City, Michigan; Michael Hix, Tallahassee, FL
    • 2003 - No award presented
    • 2002 - Scott Smith, Lansing, Michigan
    • 2001 - No Award Presented
    • 2000 - No Award Presented